Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

iridium flare?

was outside last night and it must have been around 10.15/10.30ish (i didnt have a watch - doh!) below vega but higher than casseopia in an easterly direction i saw the brightest thing i think i have ever seen! i can only think it was an iridium flare but i looked on heavens above and there was nothing scheduled (ironically i think i also saw one a few days previously below cassiopea in a northerly direction which was also unscheduled)

did anyone else see it?

im a total beginner so sorry for the poor details of time and location!

Well your not bonkers! I saw it from The north east. It was definitely a satellite as I traced it for quite a while with binoculars after it fade below naked eye visibility.

Not sure if was an iridium though. Some times other satellites also catch the light quite well.

The iridium's are most impressive in day time when the just appeer in the fully lit sky!

Not sure if this was the same thing but at about 10.20 ish on the 22nd, I had just looked up from the eyepiece to see a bright flash heading south west through Hercules. But this only lasted a second or two. This was more meteor speed (which I initially thought it was, only getting a quick glimpse) certainly not satellite speed.

• 3 months later...

Not having witnessed an iridium yet, are thet a short lived "flare" rather than the long drawn out show that ISS provides?

Also, my collegue suggested that they are geostationary, but on Heavens above they are protrayed as moving (relatively to observer). I guess that once I have a confirmed sighting, I'll know for sure.

Sounds like a good bright one. HA appears to only show current live Iridiums. Have a look at CalSky as that appears to list all of the satellites up there.