Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My very first Observing Session - 30th July

Astro Adj

Hi everyone,

I decided to keep a journal of my observing sessions so that I could chart my progress from an absolute beginner to, well, someone not quite so clueless! I’ve taken the below from my notes, and whilst I’ve edited it a bit I think it’s still incredibly basic. Still, the only way is up, right?

Date: 30th July

Time: 2330 ~ 0130

Site: Colchester (out of town)

Weather: Clear

Equipment: Skywatcher 130PM, 10x50 Bino’s

Site Notes:

The site was quite dark but there was some light visible, most likely from the residences near the area. Parts of the sky were not visible due to trees obstructing the view.

Observations:

Clear and impressive view of Polaris. I was able to identify the 'Summer Triangle' - Vega, Deneb and Altair. Vega in particular was very bright. I was also able to see 2 meteors, which was an incredible sight. Finally I was able to observe an unknown star close to the Southern horizon.

Comments:

Oh dear. This session was a veritable comedy of errors. I'm not sure where to begin! First of all, I mistook the Altitude and Azimuth controls on my EQ2 mount for the Declination and Right Ascension ones. On top of this, the scope was not polar aligned, I had no compass, and I forgot the batteries that would power the RA drive. I also had no knowledge of the night sky and only a map I found unintelligible for guidance! Looking back, it's a wonder I managed to take the dust cap off.

So, was it a disappointing night? On the contrary! The fact I was able to see anything at all was brilliant I loved every second of it. My original plan (if you can call it that) was to view the moon as I imagined even I could locate that. Unfortunately due to the trees and the low orbit of the moon at this time of year that proved impossible.