Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M57 - Still having problems

Rossco72

Last night was a bit of a mixed bag, clear skies at last but only for a few hours. I got my first chance to use my new LVI autoguider and judging by the reasonably spherical stars I'd guess the guiding was ok. However I was still struggling with focus and I think the stars still look a little bloated. I just can't get the "live View" mode on the canon 450D to give me the benefits i had hoped for. It's also a bit of a blow that a 5 minute exposure takes a further 5 minutes to save!

Anyway, I tried several exposures with just the IR/UV cut filter and then tried a few on OIII and Ha but these were a bit of a bust, maybe the canon just isn't sensative enough?

Any thoughts or wisdom is welcome.

This is a guided 5 minute exposure at ISO800, IR/UV cut, Canon 450D and Televue 4X Powermate.

post-16557-133877387678_thumb.jpg

I am no expert imager but won't the 4x Powermate effectively increase your focal ratio by 4, if this is true that will mean you need 4x the time to get the same result photographically as without.

BTW Which scope were you using?

I suspect the filters will really reduce the photon throughput as well, for focusing I use a Bahtinov mask which is a most excellent device otherwise focusing is a big problem.

I am sure you will get some experts helping

good luck

Actually 16 times the exposure (4 squared).

Switch of noise reduction on your camera so that the image is saved immediately and not post processed on the camera. What the camera is doing is taking an internal dark for every picture you take. Your 450D is better than my 350D and that is what I use.

I do this, take 20 x 5 min exposures and at the end take about 5 darks as I pack up. Cuts down the time dramatically.