SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Where to start

Jakeyboi

Hi all,

I've just brought a skywatcher 127 and have been playing around in the garden looking stars and (somehow) Saturn.I'm a complete newbie and don't really know where to start. But this weekend I'm going camping and weather permitting plenty of star gazing. I was wondering if anyone could tell me some things to look out forand here to find them.

Thanks jake

As you might know, this time of year, it get's dark quite late. If I were you, I'd be looking for:-

M81 / M82 in Ursa Major - 2 very pretty galaxies.

M51 in Canes Venatici - The Whirpool Nebula

M57 - the Ring Nebula in Lyra (looks like a luminous bike tyre)

M13 and M92 in Hercules - very visible and fine globular clusters

Albireo in Cygnus at the foot of the cross - the most glorious double star in the sky ?

Saturn (if you catch it early enough)

M5 in Serpens - globular cluster

M27 The Dumbell Nebula (might be tough) in Vulpecula

If you bag that lot, you've done well. Now, where to find them ? Either DL a copy fo Stellarium from the interweb, or pop along to your local Amazon.co.uk / friendly Waterstones and grab yourself a Phillips Planisphere, align to the correct date and happy viewing.

Don't forget, to let your eyes dark adapt for a good 20mins or so, and avoid white light whilst you are observing - it really does help you pick out the very best from the skies.

Happy hunting !

Steve

Hi. Jake,

I wouldn't worry too much about finding specific targets just yet. Just try and familiarise yourself with the new instrument and the mount. Learn how it acts on the sky, and how to move it to stay on target with an object. If it is equatorially mounted, then that alone is a learning curve. If you start getting frustrated because you are unable to locate a specific object, it may be a big disappointment. You don't need that on a holiday.