Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Skyliner 300P

Hello everyone.

I'm a beginner and recently I ordered from FLO a Skywatcher 10" solid tube version. Dobsonian but his suppliers don't seem to stock this model at the moment. My best alternative seems to be the 12" solid tube version although the 10" one was the more practical choice. I could go for the 10" collapsible version but its more expensive for its size (I would probably have to invest on a light shroud as well) and I have the room to store the solid tube version. So, since I can't get the solid 10" version it seems viser to spend the extra money on more aperture rather than portability.

Your opinions would help me confirm this decision. If there are owners of this model out there do you remember how hard it was to assemble the mirror (since I'm a beginner this is my main concern). Also how hard is it to move from place to place? I will only need to move it within the house (ie from room to balcony) and maybe between two floors (the staircase is wide enough). Operation wise I'm guessing it should be as smooth as the smaller version and I assume it has good quality optics.

Thank you very much,

Eralp

to move the 12" between floors you would definitely need to take the OTA off the base and do it in two parts. The OTA itself is not too heavy but it is big, long and quite awkward so you would need to be very careful going downstairs with it. However, taking it off and putting it back on the base is very simple (literally a minutes work). When it's in one piece the 12" is very big and unwieldy.

Have you tried Rother Valley Optics as they actualy carry the skywatcher dobs in stock instead of drop shipping them.

http://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/skyliner-250px_d13.html

John

No. Will do tomorrow. But the main UK supplier definitely doesn't have the 10" one in stock. If I do decide to buy from them are they reliable?

In the mean time more opinion on the 12" dob will be welcome.