Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which Meade?

I bought an Etx90 EC 7 years ago, and now feel the need to buy a larger Meade scope. There lies the problem? I have a budget of £2000 ,however i cannot decide on which Meade!I am a novice,and cannot really understand the main pros and cons when i research the ETX against the LX range.I want this scope to allow me to really pick up astronomy as a hobby and allow exciting stargazing,so it must have the capacity to accomodate my skills in stargazing as they develop. Perhaps someone out there has been in my position and can offer some advice on best prices and their experiences.

Here's hoping?

P.S Home is in NE England

Hello there

Very good question. I am quite a brand loyal person, and as i have had no real problem with my existing Meade, my natural instinct is to keep to the same brand. However as i have not really researched any other scope suppliers, i have only kept to Meade's information,and if there is another make that really blows Meade away, with regards to what i would like to achieve with a scope, and others agree, then i will go for it.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Hi there

I have had (and still have) 2 Meade scopes, the ETX70 & ETX90.

Opticaly I think they are both very good, especialy the 90, but to be honest, the mounts suck. I didnt realise how bad they were until I got myself a skywatcher HEQ5pro for upgrading my 150mm reflector. I dont know how noisey the mounts are for the Meade LX range, but the ETX ones are soooo noisy.

If I had 2 grand to spend, I would look at the Skywatcher range on the Heq5pro or Heq6pro mounts (depending on how portable you want it) with the tube of your choice (you dont mention if you prefer refractor, reflector ect)

I'm sure others on here will give you more (and probably better) advice, but I agree with Kniclander, dont narrow yourself to Meade

Hope this helps

Greenkat