SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

novice on holiday

munster

Hi all

In june i am off on holiday for my 50th birthday to La Palma in the canaries where i understand conditions for observing the night sky can be very good.As a complete novice and haveing scoured this forum for tips i have obtained a 10x50 pair of bino's,a couple of beginners guides and a planisphere next i am off to the library to see what they have to offer to aid my swatting up.Any furher tips on what to look for,where to start,expectation level e.t.c from your contributors would be most welcome thanks

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you may need to treat the planisphere with a bit of caution - the different latitude of the Canary Islands makes quite a difference especially when looking due south!

Get away from the resorts, also any towns with significant amounts of lighting.

I'd strongly suggest taking a monopod to help you support the binoculars. A tripod is better but probably uses up too much space & weight for airline travel. A dim (or controllable brightness) red LED torch is useful for reading charts etc. in the dark without ruining dark adaptation, and a chair (best borrowed locally) is useful for comfort whilst observing.

Hi Munster.

A warm welcome to SGL, before your holiday you could have a look at some free software : Cartes du Ciel, Stellarium and TUBA, the later is dedicated specifically to observing with binoculars and can be accessed through Philip.S.Harringtons web site.

These are all star maps and you should be able to print off the area of sky you will expect to see from your Holiday destination. Enjoy the forum.

John.

Ron