Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Nice observtory: has anyone been there?

Rosanella

I was away on holiday to Nice -- came back yesterday -- but I never made it to the observatory in Eze this time round, but I would like to go next time.

Has anyone been there?

(I passed by Eze on my way to Monaco by bus)

Hope you had a great holiday Rosanella. :)

Jeff.

Yes, thank you, though it was a very brief holiday of just 3 nights and when I found out about the observatory in Eze there wasn't enough time to go. In fact, I wish I had found out before taking the bus to Monaco, as I found Monaco claustrophobic and not accessible in many places :-(

Ten years ago I was living in Nice and often made a trip at weekends up the hill to the Observatory and on one occasion my trip cooincided with their annual Open Day. At first the guy on the gate would not let me in as I had not arrived on their Official Bus! Then I explained that I was an amateur astronomer with a small observatory in my garden back in England and that I had read the book by the Nice director, Paul Couteau, "Observation of Double Stars", who is a world authority on the subject and that I too was an enthusiast of double stars. At this the guy's attitude changed completely and I was not only admitted but he practically gave me a conducted tour of the place including showing me the magnificent 74cm. refractor in the main dome as well as the solar scope which projected an image of the Sun about a metre in diameter.

All in all it was a memorable afternoon.

Lawrie

I've been to Eze a couple of times but I did not realise there was an observatory there. Looking down onto Cap Ferrat from the botanical garden on the top of the hill at Eze is one of the most beautiful views in the world IMHO :)

John