Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi & help.

Hello fellow stargazers.

I have returned to viewing the cosmos after a few decades break (aka babies!).

The world of telescopes  (and mounts) has changed dramatically during my time away. I decided to start small, and got a second-hand Skywatcher Explorer 150p and fell upon the SW6R-Pro at a good price I could not refuse (future-proofing). I am a freelance photographer and thought I would have a go with imaging as I already have multiple cameras in hand.

I have run into a problem, I cannot see through the polarscope. Mount is pointing to geo. North, everything is all level and balanced, inputted the altitude (which is latitude, it seems as though polaris is at a higher elevation).I set the mount up and rotate the  DEC & RA so I can see throught the mount and get the reticule to make a + instead of the x. I simple cannot see any stars true the polar scope - I have played with LED brightness and nothing. I am  now wondering if it's my physical eyes (I use varifocals, so long and short sighted with astigmatism).

Question here therefore is, how can I carryout a Polar Alignment otherwise. I have been researching guidescopes & the Polemaster but the implication is, I still need to do a manual alignment, if only rough?

It has been very frustrating, any advice would be most appreciated.

Liz

You can get quite close with a compass which has a declination scale on it so you can point to true north, and use a digital inclinometer for the altitude adjustment.

To finish off you can do drift alignment using the camera (DARV method).