Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi all,

So I'm new to astrophotography. I recently tried to image the M51 whirlpool galaxy for the second time (first time around I actually pointed to the right of target and never got anything).

My equipment:

- Skywatcher 200P

- EQ6R pro

- Canon eos 800D (modified)

I imaged around 60 pictures of 2 min exposure each. I had to discard a couple because I live in Denmark and at this time of the year it never really gets dark, so a couple images were too bright.

Total exposure time is then around 1h15min.

I took around 18 darks, and 20 bias, but no flats.

I stacked in DSS and followed some tutorials to edit in Photoshop. I just can't seem to bring out the colors as I see some other have done. I'm sure it's due to my lack of postprocessing skills and possibly also only around 1h exposure.

I'd appreciate it if you guys could give me some tips on both postprocessing and capturing the image.

Thank you.

Attached my attempt at postprocessing and the stacked (.tiff) picture from DSS.

M51.png

M51_originalStacked.tif

I'm not going to be much help with advising the actions you need to take in Photoshop, because I use PixInsight for my own processing, but there are a few tutorials around which will help and I'm sure the more experienced Photoshop users will be along to advise.

In the meantime, I did run my standard workflow with your image through PixInsight and I can assure you that the colours are there and you have good details in there. It would help to use Flats in the stack and there's also the remains of a satellite trail in there (which I removed during processing).

So this is what I managed to get with my basic processing:

Lexi_M51_PixInsight_Process.thumb.png.d3ca2113a0ed013d442d653a5a94b952.png

Edited by Budgie1
  • Thanks 1

I excusively use Photoshop and have a number of video tutorials on You Tube.  Many of them are for Mono imaging but a few of them will be useful to you.