Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Nina not syncing with mount after plate solve.

Hi all, im new to Nina and I’m struggling to get Nina to properly sync after a plate solve.

my mount is a skywatcher Star Adventurer GTI and I connect via the Windows SynScan pro app.

so I start the night by firing up the SynScan pro app, then connect to mount in Nina. I then use Nina to do a polar alignment and usually get it within 20-30 arc seconds. I then fire up cartes du ceil, then do a plate solve in Nina to determine the mounts exact position.

this is where things fall apart, as when I slew to a target in Cartes Du ceil, it’s a long way off the target, as if the pointing model has not been updated after the plate solve.

should I be connecting to the mount through Eqascom/Eqmod instead of SynScan pro app ?

thanks in advance,

Rich

33 minutes ago, Northernlight said:

should I be connecting to the mount through Eqascom/Eqmod instead of SynScan pro app ?

This is worth a try for sure. EQMOD is more reliable than the Skywatcher driver.

I used to connect the mount to my mini-pc with the USB port on the handcontroller and occasionally i would get an unexplainable bug where the mount would slew to the opposite direction than it should based on platesolving. Platesolving also correctly reported that he mount has taken a wrong turn, but didn't sync this. I cant be 100% sure the Skywatcher driver, or its interaction with NINA/ASTAP platesolving was the culprit, but it has not happened since i switched back to EQMOD.

Also, you have some unnecessary steps in your workflow, namely this:

37 minutes ago, Northernlight said:

I then fire up cartes du ceil, then do a plate solve in Nina to determine the mounts exact position.