Narrowband

Powering 5V lens heaters from ZWO/Altair Camera USB Hub

Ratlet

Looking at getting some lens heaters for my imaging rig.  The ones I'm looking at are 5V powered by USB with adjustable temperature control.  I was wondering if anyone has any experience of powering these through the USB hub on the back of an astro camera (I've got an Altair Hypercam, but I guess it will be mechanically similar to a ZWO).

TIA

I think the Hypercam is powered itself from the USB connection, I use a USB powerbank to run the 5vDC dew strips. My Hypercam is the 183C and runs from the computer but some have a 12vDC input so maybe you can run heaters from them, not sure. I'm new to all this camera stuff and don't have a clue really😁.

Edited by Franklin

5 minutes ago, Franklin said:

I think the Hypercam is powered itself from the USB connection, I use a USB powerbank to run the 5vDC dew strips.

Should have said in the OP, hypercan 533.  It's got an external 12v power.

Just now, Franklin said:

Plug it in and see if it warms up. 

That's pretty sensible tbh.  I can't imagine it'll break the camera.  I have had issues running the guidecam through it but I suspect that because it's trying to pass data along the same cable as the 533 is passing data along.

Some day, someone, will start making telescopes that have a built-in heated element as part of the lens cell itself and then we can do away with all these wires! It could even be powered by the mount via a contact on the dovetail bar.

Edited by Franklin
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, Ratlet said:

.... I can't imagine it'll break the camera....