SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Concentre collimation

I recently purchased one of these off member. 

I have never used one before so just tried and I think I have it right would someone mind checking for me and if I have to adjust anything let me know what it is please. 20230515_113706.thumb.jpg.c46c9c761e3f85beaf02c7b4d0d090c3.jpg

20230515_113901.jpg

20230515_113810.jpg

20230515_113734.jpg

Never used one, but I'm wanting to see the feedback.  Might have to get one from flo (and one of the magnetic handles) for the dob.

Always filled with doubt about the alignment of a my secondary mirror.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, wookie1965 said:

I recently purchased one of these off member. 

I have never used one before so just tried and I think I have it right would someone mind checking for me and if I have to adjust anything let me know what it is please. 20230515_113706.thumb.jpg.c46c9c761e3f85beaf02c7b4d0d090c3.jpg

20230515_113901.jpg

20230515_113810.jpg

20230515_113734.jpg

Looks to be slightly out and not concentric (excuse the pun). The outermost ring visible on the concenter is nearer the edge on the right hand side of your photos which should be equal on both sides. I used one on my 12” f5 to set my secondary after doing some modifications to the secondary mirror holder. I also can’t really see the edge of the focuser draw tube. HTH.

I use a concentre too. Make sure the secondary is adjusted for up/down the tube, and tilt/rotation, first - undo all the screws if necessary to get it directly under the concentre with the outer ring aligned. You can then adjust the three screws to align the secondary with the primary.

The secondary is one of those fiddly things to adjust. But once it's right you'll likely never have to touch it again.

• Like 3

1 hour ago, bosun21 said:

Your secondary 

Thank you I guessed as much now sorted dead centre just need a star test.

1 hour ago, Mr Spock said: