Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Planetary Imaging with DSLR and Barlow

Hi all,

I am very new to visual and AP and keen to learn from any advice. I have a super basic set up and am keen for some pointers around planetary photography using a 5inch 750mm reflector and a DSLR (Canon 800D). I understand that a dedicated planetary camera is better suited due to the smaller sensor size but was wondering if I should be using a 2x, 3x or 5x Barlow for planets. I currently have a stock 2x Barlow and am willing to spend approx £100 to upgrade this. 
Has anyone got any experience of this or specific advice?

Am I better using eyepiece projection?

2 hours ago, Mr Spock said:

This was taken with a 100mm f7.4 (740mm) refractor with a x2 Barlow on a Nikon D500, with a slight crop, to give you some idea of the scale.

DSC_06322048.thumb.jpg.bb111f1bd17e2912b4f4108966aa3b10.jpg

Beautiful image. The 2x works well on the moon. Lovely details.

I am thinking that a higher power Barlow would allow more info to hit the pixels of the sensor giving more details on, for example Saturn or Jupiter. So when cropped, there would be more data. Is this correct? I know that there would be a large loss of light and therefore I would have to use a higher iso/longer exposure. 

Though it's possible, DSLRs aren't suited for planetary as you say one the main issues is that their sensors are large, if you look at astronomy.tools website you can see for yourself if you input your setup numbers even if that fov calculator is just a guide, a large planet like Jupiter will look tiny so the sensor won't be capturing any detail.