Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginners question.. why a DEC motor?

Hi,

As a total beginner I understand what an RA motor is for... on a properly aligned eq mount it keeps it pointing at the same bit of sky....yes?

But I'm not sure what the purpose of a DEC motor is. Us it only used if you've some sort of goto setup? or for tracking the moon? or something else?... I'm sure it'll be obvious when it's explained.

The DEC motor is used to perform the goto or motorised movement dictated by a handset/computer.  For visual users it would keep a target centred, for imaging and remote users it does the tracking and centering of new targets.

Tracking of moon, sun & planets use a special tracking routine as they are not as 'simple' as the astro (sidereal tracking).

2 hours ago, Samop said:

Hi,

As a total beginner I understand what an RA motor is for... on a properly aligned eq mount it keeps it pointing at the same bit of sky....yes?

But I'm not sure what the purpose of a DEC motor is. Us it only used if you've some sort of goto setup? or for tracking the moon? or something else?... I'm sure it'll be obvious when it's explained.