Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My Best Galaxy Image To Date

wesdon1

M101.bestever.staked.thumb.jpg.41e2bad9cffd110b80e913892c32adba.jpgHi all. I just wanted to share my latest, best image of a Galaxy. It's M51 whirlpool galaxy. I only managed around 45 minutes total integration after most of my subs were ruined by strong winds. I'm still very happy with the final result though, because i'm still learning.

*Target - M51 Whirlpool Galaxy

*Canon EOS T3i unmodded

*SW HEQ5 Pro Mount

*SW 200P newt. reflector

*Skytech CLS Filter

*ZWO 120MM Mini Guide Camera / PHD2

*119 x 65sec sub-exposures ( I didn't want to attempt longer subs due to awful wind ) ( Only 42 subs were usable due to wind )

Laptop - LENOVO IDEAPAD 1 ( rubbish Laptop, btw! Super slow! lol )

Edited by wesdon1
mistake
  • Like 12

you were fortunate it was clear (hardly any here) even if windy, perhaps when windy now you've seen your reject list % you could cut the individual exposure time further to see if that increases your keep rate, a kappa clipping algorithm can help round the stars a little, set your highest scoring frame as your reference.

Edited by happy-kat
  • Thanks 1

On 23/04/2023 at 13:36, happy-kat said:

you were fortunate it was clear (hardly any here) even if windy, perhaps when windy now you've seen your reject list % you could cut the individual exposure time further to see if that increases your keep rate, a kappa clipping algorithm can help round the stars a little, set your highest scoring frame as your reference.

@happy-kat Oh wow thanks so much for those tips/advice happy-kat! I never knew the "kappa sigma clipping" helped make stars more 'round? And the highest scoring reference frame, that sounds so so helpful and makes total sense! I wish I'd have thought of that myself months ago! And yes I think cutting the sub exposure times will help my keep rate in future windy conditons. It's horrible having to bin so much of your very hard earned subs!