SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First Attempt at M51 - how to improve?

Sarek

This is my first attempt at M51.  It may be a bit distant for my current set up but I thought it was worth a shot as I've managed to get my guiding working pretty well in recent sessions and skies were very clear here on Wednesday evening.

This is about an hours worth of integration using 300s exposures. I also took 25 darks, flats and dark flats to add to my bias frames. I processed it in PI using the Autointegrate script and tweaked a bit afterwards.

Other than getting more integration time I'm keen to learn if there are other thngs I can do to improve on this before looking for a scope (maybe SW150PDS) with more reach and/or investing in a dedicated astro camera (probably ASI 533MC pro).  My skies are around Bortle 4 so I havn't looked at getting pollution filters yet.

AutoRGBv1-03-02.jpeg

• Like 3

I think for an hour of imaging this is a good result. Star shapes look good and there is a fair bit of detail, especially for a small scope. I would question the need for 5 minute exposures, 2 or 3 is probably enough. More subs will help with the intergrated result.

Other than that, I would be pretty pleased. After the summer, your 72ed scope will be ideal for nebulae and some of the larger targets so I would stick with it for now. (My kit has now been packed up for the summer - not enough darkness now until the end of August).

• Like 3

9 hours ago, Sarek said:

My skies are around Bortle 4 so I havn't looked at getting pollution filters