SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Storing equipment in your observatory. (Temperature and humidity)

George Gearless

Hey guys.

I'm in the (very) early stages of planning my very own home observatory. I've got loads of questions, but particularly one is very important for my further planning. Heating and/or dehumidifying.

Do you heat and/or dehumidify your observatory? If you do heat it, by what means do you do it? Is dehumidifying your observatory enough to protect electronic equipment and optics, or is heating required if you live in a place where the temperature regularly drops below zero in the winter (I live in Denmark)?

I'd be interested to hear from people who live in a similar climate on how you've solved this problem.

I’ve been operating my Pulsar domed obsy for 19 years. No heating, no dehumidifier, no problem. I leave the dew heater on the C11 and the heater on the GoTo controller, on permanently, though.

Edited by JeremyS
  • Like 2

The Jury is still out on the need for  a dehumidifier in my Pulsar dome.  I constructed an octagonal marine plywood base with fine mesh air vents on every side, and left  one third of the 400mm hole in the centre ,around the pier, open.  Add to this the open air gap between the walls and the rotating dome, and there seems to be more than enough air flow to keep the inside dry.  In six months of use I have had moisture on the AZ100 and scopes on just a few occasions, so I am not sure yet.

Like Jeremy, I have kept dew heaters on permanently set low through this winter.

Edited by Saganite
  • Like 2

I live on the West Coast of Scotland, so high humidity most of the year, high rainfall and temperatures from -6°C in the winter to 26°C in the summer.