Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Have I missed out?

So I bought my first telescope three or four weeks ago, and almost as soon as I put it together the sky clouded over and hasn't cleared up since.

It seems now that Jupiter is slipping over the horizon; Mars is beating a hasty retreat for the next two years; Saturn and Venus are stuck behind the Sun .... it seems that, as a newbie I've missed out on all the easy interesting stuff, apart from the Moon.

Once the sky manages to clear up, what should I try looking at whilst learning how to drive my 'scope? At this stage of my hobby I suspect DSOs will be beyond me.

• Like 1

What scope do you have? I wouldn't say you've missed out at all - there's a whole hemisphere up there to explore, and the planets will be on parade again, you just need to be patient 🙂. Take this with s pinch of salt as I only had a few months observing experience before moving to astrophotography... 

DSOs won't be beyond you at all. There is plenty to see as soon as it clears up. Spring is dubbed Galaxy Season as this time of year the milky way, and all the nebulae, clusters etc aren't really readily observable (unless you stay up late). There are a number of easy(er) galaxies to see though, like M51, M81 and M82, the Virgo cluster and Markarian's Chain. 

If you don't fancy that at this stage, double stars can be very rewarding. Albireo is a classic, Izar another good one top of my head. These can require high magnification and a steady mount though. 

I spent my first few months observing at this time of year and I was out every clear night. There's plenty up there, and an app like Stellarium on your phone can help you navigate around to start with. More experienced observers will be along shortly to give you some decent advice 😂

Edited by OK Apricot
  • Like 5

Unless you have really specific tastes, there's always something to look at (if the skies ever clear).

What scope have you bought, and how dark are your skies?