Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Ordered 150PL for planets anyone used one?

I've been using small refractors for my planetary viewing, 72mm etc short focal length.

Decided I want to more light gathering.

So I ordered a skywatcher 150PL f8 1200mm focal length.

I believe these are good planet busting scopes and looking for people who have used one that can tell me if your experiences.

I could of gone down the 200p route but I thought the smaller secondary and longer focal ratio of the 6 inch f8 would be better contrast etc.

Thanks Gary 

Edited by stafford_stargazer
  • Like 3

I have no experience with the 150PL, but I did build a 6" F/8 "planet killer" Newtonian in the distant past. Mine had a secondary of just 36mm or so,  just some 24% secondary obstruction (SO), which made it perfect for planets, and no slouch on deep sky viewing. The 150PL has the same 36 mm SO (according to this pdf), so performance should be similar. An 8" with 33% SO will show more detail, but with slightly softer contrast. My current C8 shows more detail on planets, despite its higher SO.

• Thanks 1

I use one, not just for planets. It's gven me some good detail on the gas-giants and on Mars, conditions permitting. I often use it for "general" observing anyway, providing the target isn't too big. It can nearly fit the Pleiades or both Perseus double-clusters in the FOV with a 32mm Plössl. Good for splitting doubles too and does well with "lesser" eyepieces.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I once owned a 6" F8 newt, it wasn't actually the SW model but it did have the same CO.....the physical design of the scope is good for Lunar and Planets.   Collimating is easy too due to F8.

Enjoy!

• Thanks 1