Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Have acquired a Tal1, in need of advice

Hi everyone, I am completely new to telescopes and have just acquired a Tal1 telescope. The person I bought it from said that it was a working but having looked at it it is missing the plug in lead and an eyepiece.

I’m wondering if anyone who has experience with this telescope could help me in figuring out how to get it in working order. My partner thinks the lead is just a cable lead but we don’t know for sure, and I’m not sure what size eyepieces it needs. The person who sold it to me said it was a Tal1, but the scope belonged to their daughter and they couldn’t tell me anymore about it and there is no identifying information on the scope.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

E67B94D9-9E1F-4C18-BFD4-321E39297935.png

Hello and welcome to SGL.

Yes a TAL scope. No there are no leads, it being completely manual operation.
I used to own one.

These were very well engineered scopes and mounts, with good optics.
But today, it all depends on if it has been looked after.

Two suggestions to get you started.
First is look at the primary mirror condition, take a photo.
Second measure the diameter of the eyepiece tube. hopefully it is 1.25".
Though some early TAL scopes used a different size.

If you include your approximate location in your header information, you may get a local offer of help.

• Like 1

The early TAL's had a 32mm eyepiece dia but I believe that they changed to the 31.7mm ( 1 1/4" ) on later production. Not much difference but standard eyepieces will be very loose and not sit square in a 32mm hole. Some TAL's had a motor drive that was housed in a black box which yours does not have.

Once upon a time I inquired with the local importer of these scopes about spare eyepieces for use on other scopes. The response that came from Russia was that

" our telescopes come with eyepieces, why would you want more" :BangHead:

Nigel