Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M51 - Learning some new tricks

Catanonia

I have been imaging for many years, but there is always time to learn some new tricks with old data.

So I picked up a BlurXterminator trail and learnt the new spectro / gaia colour calibration routines and put it to work on my M51 data I collected last year with my RC10

I am blown away with the improvement learning these 2 routines have given me with the image below.

I did not even take my time on this processing, probably about 1 hour

Deconvolution as always been a dark art for me, and I have never done it on my linear images and have therefore always suffered. BlurXTerminator (if used carefully) just takes this whole hassle away.

Details

• M51 13 hours from Bortle 6 skies over 3 nights
  • Scope - RC 10 F7 2000mm FL on a EQ8R-Pro
  • Camera - ZWO 2600MC Pro OSC and no filters
  • ASI Air Pro and 120mm OAG guide
  • 7.3 Hours in 2m subs OSC
  • 5.6 Hours in 5m subs OSC
  • Processed entirely in PixInsight

M51 Combined Effort 2m and 5m.jpg

Edited by Catanonia
  • Like 23

1 minute ago, Vroobel said:

It's one of the best M51 pics I ever saw. 

And now I really don't know whether to go into 2600MM + narrow filters or 2600MC (also with some filters like L-eXtreme). 😳

Thanks

It is a hard decision. OSC is much easier if you are new to it all, but Mono will give better results.

I used to use mono, but the switch to OSC with modern camera's makes the hobby much more rewarding for me with limited night sky time due to the horrid weather in the NW of England.

I have the lEnhance filter too, that I can use (not in this image) if I image large nebula's with my RASA8, but that filter will loose you star colours and the blue in the nebula's

• Like 1

Thats a nice M51, but i think there is more to be taken out of the image if you do somethings a bit differently.