SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Sharpcap or NINA

Astro74

Hello 

I’m a complete beginner to AP and to processing- which would be better NINA or Sharpcap ? I need it to be very simple and easy to use for a beginner.

thanks 

Edited by Astro74

• Astro74 changed the title to Sharpcap or NINA
1 hour ago, Astro74 said:

Hello 

I’m a complete beginner to AP and to processing- which would be better NINA or Sharpcap ? I need it to be very simple and easy to use for a beginner.

thanks 

These are softwares for capture.. AP does include planetary but as the capture is different Nina isn't really recommend..

As for processing,if you search Photoshop, affinity photo etc, remember you need to also stack your images so something like DSS, APP, gimp , ASTAP can all stack... 

Simple, easy to use, and astrophotography processing does not go together. You will have to compromise a little bit here, but not compromising on the astrophotography processing part will get you a headstart in learning to process astrophotographs that are very different from "normal" photographs.

Try Siril, a free astrophotography processing software: https://siril.org/

Its free and relatively simple to learn. Fights toe to toe with paid software in terms of what it can do and certainly for a beginner will be the least uphill-battle kind of deal because the most important tools in it make processing a breeze. At first i would suggest ignoring everything but 3 tools in it, the background extraction tool, the color calibration tool and the histogram transformation tool.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Astro74 said:

Hello 

thanks 

A few questions to clarify your request to hopefully get you the right recommendations:

1. Did you mean processing or capture? 

2. If you meant processing, how would you rate your general degree of computer literacy? (Or have you used any sort of image processing tools before?)

3. If you meant capture, what sort of equipment are you working with?