Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

6” Skywatcher on EQ2 mount? Good idea or not?

Firstly, ‘Hello’, I’ve been a member of SGL for a while, but this is (I think) my first post.

I have a 6” Skywatcher telescope on a Dobsonian mount. I’ve been using it quite successfully for about six years, but I’m starting to get a bit frustrated with the limitations of the mount.

I have now got a 5” Skywatcher, on an EQ2 mount, with a clock drive.

What I’m wondering is, can I put the 6” scope on the EQ2 mount? I know I would need bigger tube rings. I have read that it might be too heavy, or too unstable. It’s a lot longer than the 5”.

Is a 6” better than a 5”?

What would you guys do?

Hi, likely not. The smallest EQ which I've found to be sturdy on a 1.75 inch leg section steel tripod is an eq3-2. The 2 will likely be wobbly and won't dampen well.

You might see a difference visually with the 6 from a 5 but I think you'd need to go up to an 8 inch to see more of a difference.

What are your limitations with the dob?

I think my frustration arises from trying to take photographs. 

I have seen amazing things through my 6” with the Dobsonian mount. If I just concentrated on *looking* instead of trying to photograph things, there wouldn’t be a problem. I’ve got some lovely moon photos, and one Jupiter picture which I’m quite proud of, but that was more luck than judgement 😂

The 5” on the EQ2 mount was not a planned purchase. I like the idea of being able to track things. It’s harder with the Dobsonian mount. 

However, the Dobsonian mount has an advantage, in that I can move it more easily. My view is NE to SW. If I want to look North, I have to drag it outside.

In a perfect world I’d keep both telescopes as they are, as they both have advantages and disadvantages, but I can’t have two telescopes.