Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie here some questions about collimating flextubes

Hey everyone. Recently bought myself a Sky Watcher Heritage 130p flextube and have a few questions, as I understand that as a reflector telescope it will sometimes need to be collimated.

• How often is it likely to need collimated? I have heard everything from "I collimate it every time" to "Not collimated in months and it's been fine". I don't move it a lot, just take it out into the garden when its a clear night and then bring it back indoors when finished.

• When it first arrived I tried (perhaps foolishly) to try and "collimate by eyeball", training it on the moon and then turning the collimation knobs of the primary mirror in a trial and error fashion, checking the view to see if it got any better or worse. I stopped eventually as I wasn't seeing much change either way. I know that was probably a silly idea, at least until I'm more comfortable and know what I'm doing, but hopefully as there wasn't a noticeable change in quality of the view it's not a massive problem.

• At this stage, I'm only interested in observing fairly local objects, mainly the moon and Jupiter and Saturn. Does this make collimation more or less important than if I was observing nebulae/galaxies/further away objects? Or is it the same? I know the scope works by having the mirrors concentrate the light into a smaller area, so I wondered if the fact the moon is a lot closer than some random nebulae, there is more light available for the scope to pick up even if the alignment is not perfect?

• Will I need to align the secondary mirror often on this particular scope? The primary seems easy to adjust and I've read that's where 90% of collimation issues are,  but the secondary seems a bit more complex.

• Is poor collimation something that gets worse over time or does it just stay at that same "level" of poor until properly aligned?