Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First time lunar cycle

josefk

Lunar sketch just now 5th Feb. A first for me sketching the moon for its own sake rather than as part of a conjunction or similar.

738928858_IMG_3609(4).thumb.jpeg.2d29336092736b8b65882803e7d54a79.jpeg

Edited by josefk
corrected white balance
  • Like 14
  • Thanks 1

10 hours ago, RobertI said:

I think this is fab, you rarely seen full moon sketches. I was about to suggest you enter this into the sketching competition but I am pleased to see you already have. 🙂

Thank you Rob. "you rarely see full moon sketches" - i'm a beginner at the lunar malarkey and don't know any better 🤣 plus this scale hides a multitude of sins...

• Haha 1

...on a second attempt i felt able to concentrate on more detail - surprisingly enjoyable way to pass the time even if i am blind in one eye by the time i've finished. It would be nice to attempt a lunar sketch per day throughout the lunar cycle maybe. Don't worry i won't post them all. 😆

IMG_3610.thumb.jpeg.6515aba5de87b034a26b1b96888c7ed4.jpeg

• Like 9

Third night running. I can see very well how this gets addictive now. Nothing better than sketching to deepen the looking and TBH i'd never even looked at the moon properly before.

Right way up right way round spotting scope. White pastel, white ink brush, white highlighter and black fine liner on black card at the EP. The sketch isn't quite finished but the moon started to go behind a tree so that was that.

A nicely observed feature for me was on the prominent crater at 2-oclock ish with the mountain in the crater floor i could see terracing on the crater wall behind. I couldn't capture that to the sketch though.

IMG_3612.thumb.jpeg.8c9757528258cae037b3c4e7678ffdbb.jpeg

• Like 11

i blame a few people on here...😉