Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Replacement Goto Mount Advice

I have a Celeston 8" Newtonian, C8N,  I have had for over 20 years and I like it as a scope. About 8 years ago when I built an observatory I got a ex display Ioptron EQ mount "Gem5" and it sort of served me well, but had a nasy habbit of the gears becoming un meshed and  during Covid sent it for repair but when it came back when I put the weights back on it pulled the gears out of alignment again and is now suffering from "warning can not communicate with DEC Motor controller.

Im sure in the right hands and the right technical knowledge It would be a great mount.

Me Im not technical, Fix one thing ang another error occours.  

To be honest every winter I hear when are you going to use the telescope and the responses are it not polar aligned, the gears are slipping etc.

So Basically Im think about cutting my losses and want to start observing again with out any issues.

So Im looking for a GOTO mount  that would be suitable for the current telescope (Unless there is a good package includes an OTA that just as good if not better), That I can use a ZWO 120 mc camera with. And more importantly easy polar alignment, (I do have a polar alignment cameara).  I know things have moved on since I last looked at mounts. 

Budget is probably around £300 (Please stop laughing)

I want to become relaxed with my observing and making it fun again.

What should I be looking at?

Thanks in advance

Ian

An EQ5 will of course carry an 8" newt. The wisdom is that stability it is not up to photography.
In your case using a 120MC, maybe it is not that clear cut.
The camera is electrically more suited to short exposures (OK some may argue) which means mount errors are less important.

If you stack a lot of short exposures and the image gradually moves you can crop and software can re-centre the results.
It all depends on how much things move and how short the exposures are.