Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Impact on telescope focal length with a camera

Atomic

Hi all

Total newbie at guided imaging. 

I intend to purchase a second hand mono ccd or cmos camera and guide camera to have a go at longer exposure tracked imaging. I have been reading reviews on some cameras and am puzzled about a cameras suitability for different focal length/ratio of telescopes.  I note that many refer to short to moderate focal ratios, say f4 to f6.

Firstly, I dont understand why this is significant except that a telescope with a focal ratio of f10 would have a slightly dimmer image projected onto the sensor than say a F5 instrument. 

Why is this important?

Secondly what would be the effect of using a telescope with a focal ratio outside the recommended guidelines?

i have a 200mm f5 newt and  285mm f10 SCT here. EQ6 goto mount

Thanks

Martyn

Deep sky requires long total exposure time to get detail, or in this case signal. Just like with camera lenses a fast f ratio lens collects light "faster", thus exposing the camera sensor with more signal than a slow lens in the same given time.

As you need to take many photos the difference between a fast system and a slow system becomes wider over time. A slow system will also need better and more stable guiding, given the choice it makes more sense to use as fast a system you can accommodate.

The thing you have to look at when choosing a camera is whether it's pixel imaging scale closely matches your telescope resolving scale so you don't get oversampling or under sampling. I don't read too much into this though, I just do with what I have.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thanks for that.  I think that i need to try and understand the pixel imaging scale vs resolving scale. I understand over and under sampling but puzzled why this would have an effect when the sensor is simply collecting photons.. I appreciate i may have oversimplified that last sentence :)

51 minutes ago, Atomic said: