Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SW 80ED Pro and starting AP as a beginner

Morning photography but as you can imagine it’s limited in capability..hi 
Hi I’m a total newbie to Ap having only used my 127 azi gti for visual and some smart phone shots 

im considering a 80ED pro for the Ap side on the same mount so happy with that choice but I Have no idea about guide cams and guide scopes or even what I do with them any advice would be much appreciated 

thanks. 😊
I’m and therefore considering a sw 80ED pro to start my AP journey on the same mount azi gti which should be fine with the eq mount feature.

My question is really what else in need, I hear about guide scopes and guide cam but have absolutely no idea what to buy ir what to do with them any help would be appreciated 

You could read through the azgti owners forum by @AstroNebulee

Basically you need:

1. Guidescope - many people use the 30mm SVbony/Zwo one, a 50mm with helical focuser will make focusing for stars easier if you setup and breakdown every time, the increase in aperture also resolves more stars.

2. Guide camera. Something simple like an zwo 120mc or Altair, Qhy etc equivalent, a mono will be better than a colour one.

3. A computer to control it all or a mini pc or raspberry pi/asiair, note if you use an Asiair your cameras (some Canon and Nikon DSLRs to use as the imaging camera are supported) and any automation equipment (not mount) will have to be zwo.

4. An eqdir cable to connect the computer controller to the mount.

Edited by Elp

I'm not sure if an 80ed loaded up for AP might be pushing the weight limit of the mount, especially in EQ mode. I think some have had success overloading the mount with a carefully balanced telescope but if you haven't yet bought the 80ed you might want to look for something a bit smaller/lighter.

48 minutes ago, Shimrod said: