SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

A slice of Auriga - 6 pane mosaic

geeklee

I think most people have imaged small or large sections of this area of sky - including myself.  I wanted to create a slightly larger FOV using the Samyang 135 lens - this needed six panes with the small sensor of the ASI533MM - just about fitting what I wanted.  The Samyang was stopped down to a pedestrian ~F2.6 for ~20 hours of Ha and 10 hours of OIII.  Astronomik MaxFR 6nm Ha and OIII filters were used.

image.png.def7433af43b6421a6448d390021df54.png

It's fantastic to see so much of this area together to appreciate the scale of some objects and also their proximity to each other.  The huge Spaghetti nebula (Sh2240) looming in the lower left and the scale of the vast Ha near the Flaming Star and tadpoles.  Then those very faint Ha objects that have through well here.

It feels like (much) longer, but I've been shooting this for just a couple of months.  I wanted to draw a line under this data set - perhaps returning later in the year for more OIII and perhaps SII (and Ha! ).  I left plenty of subs on the cutting room floor but also had to let through some I'd have preferred not too.  There is fairly even coverage across each pane in Ha and OIII though - with Ha typically taking a 2:1 ratio.  

The version here is 33% of the original which gave me more room to bring out the fainter objects while - hopefully - retaining some good detail.  Do click through to open in a new tab.

Captured with the ASIAIR Pro, pre-processed in APP and processed in PixInsight.

Thanks for looking.

FullSize-Proc1-33Pct.thumb.jpg.b670ed1d282ad6b73b4e7ce4f70f038f.jpg

Here's a smaller, annotated version.

FullSize-Proc1-Small_Annotated.thumb.jpg.3658bcd3d5bf7142f0ea41bb4880f63f.jpg

Edited by geeklee
Added filters used.
  • Like 39
  • Thanks 1

That is spectacular, great work :)