Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hubble Bubble v2 + NGC7538 and SH2-159

The Lazy Astronomer

I recently downloaded a trail of noise exterminator (which I now completely love!), and went through a reprocess of my bubble image from last year, plus a couple of extras. These are crops from the same SHO stacks - I'll be working on the full image next, although I'm not very good at processing wider field shots, so that may never be finished!!

Approx 12hrs, split equally between Ha, Oiii and Sii.

Let me know your thoughts!

Bubble:

I always get comments on my magenta stars, but I feel they are appropriate in some images (i.e. hubble recreations) - their inclusion in this one is deliberate. 

SHO_BubbleV2.png.ddffb0d13d70d866f17bf23ebcb47493.png

NGC7538:

SHO_NGC7538CropNXT.png.ae5364b71f79a2ea758bcdbbbf2a5521.png

SH2-159:

I liked the structures in this, but I don't think it stands up too well to zooming into it. I think because it's fainter the other two above, I've pushed it a little too hard.

SH2_159Crop_SHO.png.446e59d67bff8379a3997344d9299278.png

• Like 5

1 hour ago, The Lazy Astronomer said:

Bump to fish for some NoiseX application comments*, particularly in the fainter dust regions on the NGC7538 and SH2-159 images. 

At this resolution (as they're crops) it looks OK to me.  Well done with NGC7538 - so many images have this blown out completely but separate care is usually needed on it to preserve detail.  The noise reduction looks a little more noticeable in the diffuse surrounding nebulosity of Sh2-159 but again looks OK.

I guess when the whole image come together it'll be more obvious across the frame and faint stuff whether the NR is too strong.  I'm biased towards liking a little grain in my images.

What "strength" do you use for NoiseX?

Edited by geeklee

7 hours ago, geeklee said: