Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

RASA 11 or Esprit 100 ?

bluesilver

Hi, I am not 100% on where i was suppose to post this question,, so thought here would be a good start, apologies if i have this in the wrong section.

So I have been imaging for a few years now,  just don't get much time to actually get out and do it,  so maybe once a month i get a chance to get out and image.

My area is around the Bortle 2 -3 

My current scope is the Skywatcher Esprit 150,  and the mount is a iOptron CEM 120  and the camera is asi2600mc ( color )

I also have a C14 XLT ( non Edge )

So i am looking at getting a second scope of the larger objects like M42, M45.  Even with a reducer, the objects won't fit with the Esprit 150

I was thinking about getting a RASA 11 or even a Hyperstar for the C14,  but after doing a bit of research,  it appears both a pretty fussy with collimation. ( I do have a Skywatcher 16" Dobsonian that i use for visual use and find collimating this is no dramas at all.)

I then started to look at the Esprit 100 as all these 3 have very close the same imaging filed of view.

So basically i am just hoping to get some advise on what way be the best way to go here?

Esprit 100, RASA 11 or possibly look at a Hyperstar for the C14 ?

I have an Esprit150/IMX571c set up, and was looking for a wider FOV scope to use with the same camera. I was mightily impressed with the images obtained by @gorann with a RASA8/ASI2600c setup and went for that scope. It holds collimation very well and on the one occasion when I had to collimate it when the secondary assembly came loose, it was a straightforward operation. 

Certainly no regrets with going with the RASA8.

• Like 1