SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ALTAIR ASTRO-CAMS-AM I MISSING SOMETHING??

wesdon1

Hi all. I was just looking online at Altair website, and I was very surprised to see Altair selling circa 15-20mp+ cooled Astrophotography cameras, with SONY Exmoor sensors, like the equivalent much more expensive ZWO cameras, with seemingly identical sensors?? What, if anything, am I missing here please?? Could I and indeed many other amateur astronomers be missing out on saving £hundreds on astro gear in a hobby that is already very expensive??  Please could anyone with knowledge and experience of this subject tell me what I'm missing? 

( Please bear in mind I'm a newbie to Astro-imaging so if I sound stupid I apologise! )

• Like 1

You are missing nothing, certain brands carry a price premium for many reasons. ZWO has a price premium i suspect because their moneymaker product, the Asiair, locks people to ZWO cameras only so they get away with it. They are also the most popular brand so the name carries weight (think apple and samsung selling kit for 30% more than an equal product for no reason).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

17 minutes ago, ONIKKINEN said:

You are missing nothing, certain brands carry a price premium for many reasons. ZWO has a price premium i suspect because their moneymaker product, the Asiair, locks people to ZWO cameras only so they get away with it. They are also the most popular brand so the name carries weight (think apple and samsung selling kit for 30% more than an equal product for no reason).