SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How Much Moon is Possible for Astrophotography?

How Much Moon for Astrophotography?  

19 members have voted

1. 1. Do you image under a full Moon?

• Yes
    • No
  2. 2. What is your limit for imaging under the Moon?

• max. 50% Moon
    • max. 60% Moon
    • max. 70% Moon
    • 80% or more
  3. 3. When the Moon is very bright how close do you image to the Moon?

• 30 degrees
    • 45 degrees
    • 90 degrees
    • 180 degrees

I'm still a newbie, but for your information, I will shoot narrowband if Moon is out, no matter the illumination, maybe except for when it's a 10% waning crescent, in which case i'll go colour without narrowband, just CLS filter. Please bear in mind I am very new to imaging, so I am still learning!

Wes.

Edited by wesdon1
I forgot to include the details about using CLS filter

Personally, I don't worry about what the Moon is doing. If the skies are clear, I'll collect photons. Good processing helps enormously with combating the Moon (and other sources of light pollution). This image of M45 was taken over two weeks, with a bright Moon nearby for most of that time. No filters used. Would it be better had there been no Moon? Sure, but I'm happy with the end result.

• Like 3

3 minutes ago, Lee_P said:

Personally, I don't worry about what the Moon is doing. If the skies are clear, I'll collect photons. Good processing helps enormously with combating the Moon (and other sources of light pollution). This image of M45 was taken over two weeks, with a bright Moon nearby for most of that time. No filters used. Would it be better had there been no Moon? Sure, but I'm happy with the end result.

That is a really fantastic result.  Does the moon add much to your Bortle 8 site light pollution?  I think imaging in the full moon is possible, but it needs a lot more data.

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, tooth_dr said: