SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First post here. This is my first attempt at capturing the Orion Nebula with my DSLR and tracker.

AJeazy

Hey, I'm new here. I love astrophotography but up until tonight, my astrophotography consisted of attaching my smartphone camera to my telescope's eyepiece for 3-5 second exposures. I got a nice bonus this Christmas and spent it on a tracker and this is my first attempt at imaging something using that setup. Of course with the help of some YouTube videos. I've included the one I took with my smartphone for comparison.

img_1_1670922132387.jpg.86987d6ffa001789efbadfff9519adae.jpgORION.thumb.jpg.fa4b29f175a5930c1a5a53c26a287a90.jpg

• Like 14

Presume the 2nd one was done with your tracker.   Why the different field of view?

Always helpful to post up equipment used and length of exposures with images.   

Carole

Edited by carastro

2 hours ago, carastro said:

Presume the 2nd one was done with your tracker.   Why the different field of view?

Always helpful to post up equipment used and length of exposures with images.   

Carole

Different camera. 1st was smartphone. 2nd was DSLR. It was a Canon EOS Rebel T7. 

• Like 1

6 hours ago, AJeazy said:

I got a nice bonus this Christmas and spent it on a tracker and this is my first attempt at imaging something using that setup.

Nice shot and a great one for a first attempt. My only suggestion would be to reduce the black point so you can see the cloudy nebula around. What software did you use to process the image?

2 minutes ago, AstroMuni said:

Nice shot and a great one for a first attempt. My only suggestion would be to reduce the black point so you can see the cloudy nebula around. What software did you use to process the image?

Thanks for the advice. I used deepskystacker and Gimp and then just tried to follow youtube tutorials on how to use both programs. 

8 minutes ago, Elp said: