Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from the NorthWest UK

DMoon

Hi All

I'm close to Wigan if there are any fellow pie-eaters on here 🙂

I've already posted in the beginners forum but thought I would say hello here.

I'm an absaloute novice in this area. My son showed an interest in astronomy and suggested a scope for Christmas, buying a scope has been on my radar for some time so its probably going to be a joint gift! 

There is so much information about when choosing a scope, I must have decided on around 5 scopes before changing my mind... the price seemed to go up each time I changed my mind too! Decided on a Skywatcher 200P Dob, we won't travel much with it and we are only interested in visual astronomy for now.

In time it would also be good to attend a club meeting, I see there are lots of them locally, Bolton and Salford in particular.

I'll stop rambling now, looking forward to the steep learning curve ahead!

Thanks

• Like 7

Welcome. I hope you and your son have lots of fun. 🙂

I have to point out, though, that you are not in ‘Northwest UK’ you are in Northwest England, at best.

Edited by Floater

25 minutes ago, DMoon said:

Hi All

I'm an absaloute novice in this area. My son showed an interest in astronomy and suggested a scope for Christmas, buying a scope has been on my radar for some time so its probably going to be a joint gift! 

There is so much information about when choosing a scope, I must have decided on around 5 scopes before changing my mind... the price seemed to go up each time I changed my mind too! Decided on a Skywatcher 200P Dob, we won't travel much with it and we are only interested in visual astronomy for now.

In time it would also be good to attend a club meeting, I see there are lots of them locally, Bolton and Salford in particular.

Thanks