Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tools Required for Collimation

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to this hobby, zero experience with telescopes but willing to learn.

After a weekend of researching what scope to buy I finally made a decision and ordered a Skywatcher dob 200p, it was well over my budget but hopefully I've made the right choice!

I'm at the top of my budget but have ordered the scope with chart, moon filter and collimation cap. After going over budget, I wanted to know if spending further money on a Cheshire eyepiece is necessary at this time? And if it is, would you spend the extra on something like the StellaLyra eyepiece.

I'd hate to get the scope and then realise I needed this extra bit of kit. I have watched video's and read tutorials (small optics on youtube is great), but without having any first hand experience I can't decide if its needed.

Thanks

• Like 1

My first scope was a 200p, it was fine right out of the box and did not need collimating to start with or for long time after, if you have trouble with using just the cap see if there is a local astronomy club near you (assuming you have transport) and nip along with your scope, someone will have a Cheshire or laser collimator.  I'm sure they will be glad to help.  

I think you made a very good if not an excellent choice, but that will depend upon how successful the collimation procedure goes; if urgent, as when wanting to see Saturn, up close, clear and sharp, at 200x and beyond.

The Cheshire you see online has cross-hairs, for centring the secondary-mirror directly underneath the draw-tube of the focusser...

z71Atd6.jpg

You can simply determine the centring by eye instead...

830340051_secondarymirror.jpg.1dd8372f9554f49e35d02caf39a5e1d7.jpg

Is that near enough?  Then to get the StellaLyra eyepiece.