SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Digital eyepiece for a Celestron StarSense Explorer LT 114AZ

Hi, newbie here, thank you in advance for your help. Basically I am after a digital eyepiece for live viewing my telescope output to a laptop/TV.

My wife bought me a StarSense Explorer  LT 114AZ for my 60th Birthday a few months ago. Recently managed to set it up, the StarSense App is very good, and the alignment to various targets works well. However, I know from various reviews online that the telescope itself is not brilliant, I get that. As it was a present, it would be rude to change it so soon. But I would like advice please on an eyepiece I wish to buy for it, it would also be an investment for the next telescope I buy.

I hate squinting through an eyepiece. I wear glasses which is a pain, varifocals. I can view without them etc, but I would like a digital eyepiece (CCD/CMOS Sensor) that plugs into my laptop and TV to view the telescopes output live. I have tried my iPhone with an adapter over the eyepiece and mirrored to a TV and that's what I am after, but without the "finickyness". I have seen the guys in the imaging section with sensors that slot into the eyepiece tube but they are mostly high end for astrophotography. I am only after 2K maybe 4K resolution for a live viewing feed, not still photographs. I won't be into taking 120 frames deep space to be combined and all that. I would like to take a snapshot if the ISS passed my viewfinder lol. I am not interested in the Digital SLR option, too complicated camera settings. The only problem I have is my laptop is an Apple MacBook Pro and I have seen most software is Windows (It's M1 so can't virtualise windows either).

Thanks.

A 'digital eyepiece' is a digital camera - generally a cheap one, it appears.