SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

PA on mount direct vs via camera on OTA

powerlord

So.. for us asiair users and more and more maybe, users of other software we are PAing via our main cameras and OTA. And mostly this works great.

What I do find though is that when I swap to a new OTA, I have to do it again. At first I wondered why - has the mount moved somehow, etc.

Now I realise that its basically just that each OTA and camera as mouted on EQ mount is going to be a tiny wee bit probably not pointing 100% in line ?

I suppose questions are - well - ok so we end up PAing the optical path effectively - which is probably not what we should be doing, but it's close enough ?

Certainly that's what I've been doing for 2 years and get .4 rms with the EQ6r pro so works fine.

With the AM5 though it definately needs to be as good as you can get, and so, I mounted a guidescope I'd made 3d printed brackets for that ensure its as parallel to the mount as possible, and PAed with that. But to be honest, when I then put an OTA and camera on, I found the guiding was not very good until I re-PAed with the OTA.

Which just confused me if I'm honest. I mean in an ideal world, you have a 100% accurate polarscope in your mount and you do a perfect PA, and provided the mount doesn't move - you are done for ever (as per a concrete fixed pier) right ? So even if your OTA and camera are a bit squint it doesn't matter - because your mount is aligned to the earth's rotation which is the whole point.

One would thing therefore that PAing with some sort of super parallel OTA would be the next best thing ?

stu

This is a good point actually. I had this thought a couple of times recently. I use my guidescope to plate solve but it is always ever so slightly out from the main tube (being a portable rig I can't get it perfect).