Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Qhy268m with 135mm Samyang lens

Hi all

A quick one, has anyone used this combo? 
I have the lens attached to the camera and the distance is good, aberration detector looks good in all corners now 

I am going camping this weekend to a dark site and it looks like there is going to be a clear sky for the first half of Friday night, I don’t want to waste my subs by over or under saturating them, can anyone help me decide a sub length at f2.8? For narrow and broadband? 
I had an hour clear last night and was trying mode 1 gain 56 offset 25 narrowband, on the heart and soul. 1min subs, I could see the nebula, 2min subs parts of the heart were white, looked oversaturated. 
I don’t know if Nina is stretching the image, I’m still a complete novice with this software 

Has anyone used this combo and do they have any tips? 

Many thanks 

Bryan

I of course realise i just need to open a file in pix to see if it’s blown out, I am just reaching out as I’m at work and haven’t got the capability to do that atm, I’m going to be pushed for time before I go away and I’m just hoping for a shortcut to the answer 🙄It’s one of those “back of the mind” niggles that’s eating away 

Cheers 

Bryan

Edited by assouptro

I don't have that exact set up, but I use the Risingcam IMX571 which I think is the same or similar sensor with the Samyang. I shoot at f3.5 using stop down rings and for narrowband (5nm Antlia ALP-T filter) I shoot 3min exposures as directed by NINA exposure calculator having done a sensor analysis in Sharpcap Pro. I don't mess with the gain or offset and leave them at default.

NINA will be debayering and performing a stretch on your image, so it's a useful guide but don't look into it too much. As you say, you need to stack them and check them fully in PI before really getting an idea.