Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sharing my journey so far, getting started with astrophotography as a beginner

Hi! Long time lurker first time poster here, 

As an absolute beginner to Astrophotography let me just start with Wow! They did tell me the learning curve was long and steep, and they sure meant it. 😁

Having said that, it’s been thoroughly enjoyable and since the clouds are still overhead I thought I’d write a few words for others who are getting started on a similar journey.  

I went from a modest skywatcher 200p telescope to buying a 80mm refractor and equatorial mount (alongside some other ‘starter’ accessories). 

Check out my blog article below If you’re 1) fairly new to the hobby and 2) interested in learning more about astrophotography, how the switch played out personally for me, and the equipment I’d consider as a good first rig (for imaging mid-large galaxies and other DSOs). All based on research on these forums and elsewhere. 

https://willlewis.co.uk/blog/posts/my-journey-into-astrophotography-beginners-guide-to-the-equipment-you-need/

Disclaimer: I’m yet to use all the gear in anger, I’ll follow up another time with how the software all comes together and hopefully that final spectacular image. Clear skies 🤞 

Edited by AstroLearnerWill
  • Like 2

11 hours ago, MarcuSmythe said:

I am in the same position of venturing my inexperienced foot forward in that direction.  If it were not for the constant clouds I would even gain some experience! Good luck.

The only upside to the clouds is that I now feel over prepared for the my first imaging session, if there is such a thing.

Good luck and would be interested in how you get on from one beginner to another!