SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Using different exposures in one image

Hi guys, 

I'm new to imaging and a little confused by the use of different exposure times in one image. Take this screenshot for example:

Screenshot_20221016-113927_Facebook.thumb.jpg.fa14f0e99eb124a1895e8f1330e1c3cc.jpg

Are these different exposure lengths all put together at the stacking stage? Are they stacked separately and merged in processing? 

Another question - how do we go about flats over multiple sessions on one target? If I had 3x3x3hrs on a target, do I take flats after every 3hrs or do one set of flats at the end and stack them all in the same run? 

Sorry if a silly question, I've tried searching and reading but I'm not sure if I'm finding the answers. 

Edited by OK Apricot

You could do it both ways. I guess the most obvious thing might be a short exposure for stars and a longer exposure for the nebulosity, stack them separately and then combine however needed in processing. Having said that there are a number of ways to skin this cat.....

As for flats it depends, if your optical train, or more importantly i guess the dust etc, has changed/moved NOTICEABLY then you would need new flats.

I can rotate my camera and filterwheel but don't need new flats. The dust, in my case, would seem to be on something that's not moving, I'm assuming my flattener so doesn't cause me any issues.

You can combine any combination of exposures, provided that they are not completely out of the same league (like 10s and 600s) when stacking. Choose a stacking software that does normalization of the input subs, and weighting of the subs based on their measured noise levels. This way you will make the most of different length subs and be greeted with the best image in the end.