Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sky-Watcher EQ5 PRO SynScan GOTO Equatorial mount

Good evening everyone,

I'm a novice to astrophotography. I'm currently looking at the skywatcher EQ5 pro synscan goto equatorial mount, what are people's thoughts and experience with this mount.

I would only be connecting a standard dslr (Canon D2000) unmodified at the moment, and my camera kit lenses. 

In the near future I would be looking for a refractor scope and guide scope with a dedicated astrophotography camera zwo asi of some kind.

I would rather plow money into a mountat the moment that will last for a few years before going bigger (payload) I see this mount is approximately 9kg payload which would be plenty for now and also give me room to grow my rig.

As I've said I'm new to this hobby and one of my biggest issue is polar alignment, and some of the YouTube videos (astrobackyard) have helped me massively but I see goto mounts may be quicker and easier to a certain degree, I also have a newtonian telescope that is totally manual which I practice with.

Thank you for reading this and any help would be great.

My suggestion... save for an HEQ5

I based this on personal experience.  In a nutshell I purchased an Explorer 200P / EQ5 goto scope.  I was disappointed with the results I got when visual observing from a town location, so stuck my toe into imaging used a canon DSLR.  The mount struggled with the load, and that was without the additional weight of a guidescope.  In 2011 I built my observatory, and whilst doing so a secondhand HEQ5 came up in the SGL classifieds.  Also included in the listing was an ST80 / QHY5 combo used for guiding.  The price was good, but it was almost 400 miles away, however the deal was done and I drove from Hertfordshire to Sunderland and back in a day to bring the equipment home.