Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

LXD55 and SLT127 - Connecting either/or to Bluetooth/WIFI/RS232 (your advice!)

doctorbond

Hi,

My first post. I have been enjoying astronomy for a couple of years, with myself and the kids, and ready to move to remote control of one or both telescopes I currently own. I plan to upgrade them but for the moment this is what I have. 

I realise the advice I am asking for is for two different mounts. I appreciate therefore, that it will be different and also the same, so I thought I would ask for both at the same time. Aplogies!

Celestron SLT127 

• Nexstar controller with serial port in the bottom, i dont know which model controller...
  • AUX port on side of the mount
  • SLT 127mm Maksutov-Cassegrain 

Meade LXD55

• Autostar controller, with serial port in the bottom  - not sure which one, i think it is 497
  • AUX port on side of the mount
  • 8" (200mm) Schmidt Newtonian Reflector

Computer

• Ah i need to buy one....so that may be a factor in the answers below (i.e what to buy!)

I would like to connect them (either/or) to a computer just to have some fun with. I would like to control the mounts if I can, and would also like to fit a webcam for viewing, Basically so I have a fully remote scope which I can set up in the garden and then retire inside. I realise that it is only really suitable for the moon and planets, but thats ok for now. This will work well in the colder months (i.e jan/feb) with the kids, who have so far really enjoy it, but not missing the wow factor. I think being able to take some footage and maybe stack/compile some images will bring that (bigger scopes too one day!)

My starting questions are

1. Should I have a crack at getting them operationally remotely, or should I really start with newer mounts?
  2. What is better - bluetooth or WIFI? I realise that 232 is still at the heart of it?
  3. That said are RS232 cables the way to go and I forget about trying to use bluetooth or WIFI