Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How to set up and use a Dew heater on a refractor?

Hi all,

Bit of a rookie's question, perhaps?😁..if so, the answers might help others as well as me👍.

I've never used a dew heater/controller before, but on occasion I've had dewed up objective and finder or eyepiece, or both..

Can someone explain or show pictorially how such a setup could work on a 5" apo, what parts would be needed etc?

..and also recommended and affordable brands to look at?

Many thanks 👍

Dave

Edited by F15Rules
Typo

I have a power bank I use a usb dew heater band placed just in front of the glass in the OTA .

I mount the power bank over the vixen clamp and wind the cable around the OTA, I have no dangling cables then I can use this set up out in the wild with my battery box powering my mount.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi Dave I use W&W Astro they work well and at a good price they also do a patch lead so you can use them off a usb the patch lead ups the voltage from 5 volt usb to 12 volt the one I got for a 5 inch refractor is long enough to fit my 7.1 inch MAK and 8 inch Newtonian and has lots of lead to 

Edited by Neil H
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• F15Rules changed the title to How to set up and use a Dew heater on a refractor?

I bought a cheap one online, one for the refractor and one for the guidescope, and wrap them around the outer diameter in line with the glass so it conducts through. I tend to use separate usb power banks for them as they do use a lot of power if you use a portable battery to power your setup which I sometimes do.

Edited by Elp
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thanks very much for all the replies guys!

So far, no one has mentioned using a dew band on finders or eps? With my finder I just wipe it gently with a Baader cloth, same with eps..and it's rare to have to do this, thankfully.