Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New scope advice…

Hi there. I hope someone can help me out. I have been dipping in and out in astronomy for some 25 years now, pottering about with my Meade ETX 90EC. It’s been all over the British Isles and abroad. Also done photography with it via my DSLR (lunar, solar and Jupiter). I have recently caught the bug again and wanted to go more towards DSO astrophotography so bought a Sky-Watcher HEQ5 Pro mount, an Evolux 82ed, ZWO camera, guide, etc. Been a bit of a learning curve but a highly enjoyable one! So my question is, I would like to upgrade from my ETX for some a little bit more serious. I was considering the SkyMax 127 but is that enough of an upgrade for lunar and planetary photography or would SkyMax 150/180 or similar be a better bet? I would probably keep my ETX as a grab and go, maybe!
Advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Thank you for your swift reply. That was another reason why I wanted the mount. The ETX base isn’t the best by a long shot especially now I have the Heq5! Sure I understand about apertures coming from a photography background. Should have mentioned that. Lol. 
Going from the old ETX 90 to say the 127, would that be enough of an upgrade or would I be disappointed in the results? Also thinking about costs as I have just spent a small fortune! 🙈I also want to spend wisely! Thanks. Jon

Edited by JonHigh

What's your budget for the planetary imaging scope? There are lots of options. You need aperture, though in this country there could be diminishing returns in sizes beyond a C9.25, it seems, because of poor seeing.

A 127mm would be underwhelming, but you could get the larger Mac, a Classic Cassegrain or a SCT (new or used).  For planetary imaging, you could choose anything that the HEQ5 would physically support for visual use.

A Newtonian would be cheap but could prove awkward to use, partly because of the restricted focal range.

On 25/09/2022 at 13:26, JonHigh said: