Narrowband

What to get for ~£400?

Hello

I'm looking at buying my first telescope and wondering what is considered good in the £300-450 price range.

Right now I'm looking at these two:

Skywatcher Explorer 200P EQ5 8"

Skywatcher Skyliner 250PX Dobsonian 10"

They are both £419 so I don't know how to choose between them.

Any thoughts on these two or any other recommendations? I'm a complete beginner so I'm not really sure what to look out for.

My plan at the moment is to get something good with a decent mount and then upgrade it with a computer system and other accessories later.

Thanks for any advice.

Hi there and welcome to SGL :). It's a tough choice because both scopes will show you plenty of detail on loads of objects and the 10" will show you more than an 8" although IMO, it's not a quantum leap. The 8" is mounted on an EQ mount which makes things easier to track across the sky but it is trickier to setup and understand at first. However, you can upgrade the mount to accept motors or a GOTO system which make tracking so much easier. The 10" is mounted on a simple dobsonian mount which is simplicity itself to use but you have keep 'nudging' it to keep the object you are oberserving in the view of the eyepiece.

Personally, I'd go for the 8"/EQ5 setup as you can add motors to the mount plus you can always buy another scope should you wish to and use that on the mount instead.

HTH

Tony..

If you're pretty sure that a driven mount is the way you want to go then get the 8" EQ5. If you were going for a dobsonian I'd again suggest 8" rather than 10", as it would be easier to handle and you wouldn't notice much difference visually. If you went for a dobsonian you could always see about tripod mounting it later on - and you'd meanwhile have some spare cash for accessories.

Andrew

My vote would be for the SW 8" on the EQ5 mount.