Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Next scope question

My main interest is astrophotography but I'm relatively new to it. I bought a Horizon 60ed (360mm FL) with a tracker mount about 18 months ago. Soon after up-graded to a HEQ5 mount with DSLR. The last thing a bought was a ZWO asi533mc camera. Now that I'm completely hooked I'm eyeing up a better scope. 

My question is, will I notice a substantial improvement in the quality/ resolution of my images with a new scope? I'm looking at a 90mm triplet such as the StellaMira 90mm ED Triplet or the William Optics Fluorostar FLT 91, basically the biggest, fastest scope my mount will cope with. Am I on the right lines? 

Edited by Bikingbill

10 hours ago, Bikingbill said:

My main interest is astrophotography but I'm relatively new to it. I bought a Horizon 60ed (360mm FL) with a tracker mount about 18 months ago. Soon after up-graded to a HEQ5 mount with DSLR. The last thing a bought was a ZWO asi533mc camera. Now that I'm completely hooked I'm eyeing up a better scope. 

My question is, will I notice a substantial improvement in the quality/ resolution of my images with a new scope? I'm looking at a 90mm triplet such as the StellaMira 90mm ED Triplet or the William Optics Fluorostar FLT 91, basically the biggest, fastest scope my mount will cope with. Am I on the right lines? 

With small increase in aperture the difference will not be so big. So get the biggest scope your mount could properly handle, but from 60 mm to 90 mm there won't be an earthshatering improvement.

If you're looking for big and fast, a 150/750 Newtonian is a perfect match for an HEQ5 mount. Its focal length (more than twice that you have) would open the door for many objects that are too small for your current refractor, in particular galaxies, while keeping integration times reasonable with its low f/ratio. Even the most  expensive models, like this one: