Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie from Scotland

16sport

Hi.

Thought I would introduce myself, I'm Stevie an absolute beginner in astronomy and wanting to learn about the night sky and get into astro-photography so might be asking a lot of question over the winter.

Looking forward to browsing the forums and getting to know everyone.

Thanks

Stevie

• Like 3

9 hours ago, Floater said:

Want to give any fix on where you are in Scotland?

I stay just outside Dunfermline in Fife, Would you have any advice on where the Best dark sky areas nearby would be?

Thanks everyone for the warm welcome.

• Like 1

8 hours ago, 16sport said:

I stay just outside Dunfermline in Fife, Would you have any advice on where the Best dark sky areas nearby would be?

Sorry I can’t be of much help with that. Might be worthwhile getting in touch with a local astro club  - I know that Dunfermline Astronomical Society exists, but only thanks to the wonder(?) of Google. There are others in the general Fife area, I believe.

Best of luck.

• Thanks 1

Hi Stevie warm welcome from another subject of the beautiful Kingdom of Fife :)  If you are looking for a darker view than you have then anywhere really in the NE of Fife, especially in the East Neuk area. For truly dark dark skies, depending on how far you want to travel, the southern Highlands is really on your doorstep  - a short drive up the A9 or A84 via M9 and you are in the national park areas of the eastern part of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs  and the southern Cairngorms National Parks respectively. 

Jim 

• Like 1

On 30/08/2022 at 19:21, saac said:

Hi Stevie warm welcome from another subject of the beautiful Kingdom of Fife :)  If you are looking for a darker view than you have then anywhere really in the NE of Fife, especially in the East Neuk area.

Hi Jim, 

And to think i originally grew up in the East Neuk (Anster /Anstruther )