Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eye pieces

Hi there, I have a question regarding eye pieces.. I'm ann absolute noob.i have an slt 130,, worth a 10mm and a 3x Barlow lens only. I'm not sure what other lenses to get. I think I'll mostly be looking at  planets but would like to view dso if possible at some point. Can anyone suggest what eyepieces to purchase? My budget is not wonderful so is there a not so expensive a brand worth considering that five reasonably results? Kind regards, Neil. 

Z is quite right: the BST Starguiders are one of the best VFM eyepieces around. In your position, I'd get a 25mm for wide views and for finding objects, plus an 8mm for good magnifications on the moon and planets. When you feel rich enough, you can start 'filling the gaps'. A cheap alternative to the 25mm BST is a Vixen NPL. I have the 30mm and it's excellent for the price (but don't get the lower focal length ones as they can have a problem with eye relief).

• Like 2

I'll second the BST range, excellent for the money. The 25mm, 12mm, 8mm and 5mm were my eyepiece set for years, can't fault them at the price and they come up quite often in the classifieds for around £35, bargain!

• Like 2

I always recommend Vixen NPL eyepieces. They are obviously of superb quality, but are very affordable (about £30 each).

I think a good eyepiece collection really should have an 8mm,15mm and a 30 or 32mm.

I suppose it depends on the scope, but I find these 3 eyepieces work well across all my scopes. 

Edited by LukeSkywatcher

23 minutes ago, LukeSkywatcher said:

I always recommend Vixen NPL eyepieces.

Vixen NPL's are very good value as well but I wouldn't recommend going lower than the 8mm possibly even the 10mm due to tight eye relief. The 30mm is a fantastic eyepiece for the money, everyone should own one.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Franklin said: